Follow us: Entypo-facebook Entypo-twitter


CSA AGM Photo Album

One of the largest CSA conferences 

The 42nd AGM of the Caribbean Shipping Association was one of the Association’s largest conferences ever, with some 300 delegates representing public and private sector entities from across the Caribbean, the Americas and Europe. 

Jamaica’s Grantley Stephenson, CSA Vice President for the past three years, was unanimously elected President, replacing Carlos Urriola Tam, of Panama. David Jean-Marie, of Barbados, was elected Vice President.

The conference, on 15th, 16th and 17th October, was hosted by the Puerto Rico Shipping Association assisted by the Puerto Rico Tourism Company. Keynote speaker at the opening ceremony was the Secretary of State, the Hon. Kenneth McClintock, who gave an update on Puerto Rican development projects. 

The 12-member General Council, installed on the final day, includes five new representatives: Hernan Ayala-Rubio, President of the Puerto Rico Shipping Association; L. Marc Sampson, President of the Shipping Association of Barbados; Kim Clarke, President of the Shipping Association of Jamaica; Ashley Taylor, President of the Shipping Association of Trinidad and Tobago; and Juan Carlos Croston, of Manzanillo International Terminal (MIT) in Panama.

The CSA’s annual Caribbean Port Award winners were announced on the final night. Sociedad Portuaria de Cartagena (SPRC) in Colombia and N.V. Havenbeheer, Paramaribo, Suriname, were awarded trophies for Best Container Terminal and Best Multi-purpose Terminal; while terminals in Guadeloupe, Barbados, Puerto Rico and Colombia won sectional prizes.

Mike Jarrett photos