Follow us: Entypo-facebook Entypo-twitter


CSA Port Awards

Top places to Colombia and Suriname

The CSA’s annual Caribbean Port Awards were this year won by two South American marine terminals.

Sociedad Portuaria de Cartagena (SPRC) in Colombia and N.V. Havenbeheer in Paramaribo, Suriname, took the top prizes while terminals in Guadeloupe, Barbados, Puerto Rico and Colombia won sectional prizes. 

Gala Banquet

The announcement of the 2012 Caribbean Port Awards was made at the CSA’s gala banquet on 17th October in San Juan, Puerto Rico. The banquet marked the end of the Association’s 42nd Annual General Meeting, Conference and Exhibition, held over three days at La Concha. 

SPRC has won this award on five previous occasions (2005, 2006, 2007, 2009 and 2010). This is the second consecutive year that Suriname’s multipurpose port, N.V. Havenbeheer, has been victorious, having won last year for the first time. 

Sectional awards

• The prize for Dependability was won by Guadeloupe.

• The prize for Efficiency went to Santa Marta, Colombia.

• Intership Terminal, Puerto Rico, took the prize for Growth.

• The Port of Bridgetown (Barbados) won the Safety award.

The terminals were judged on performance recorded in the last calendar year. 

The CSA annual Port Award competition was established in 1987 to encourage and promote marine port development in the Caribbean region. 

Pictured below:

1. Best Container Terminal: SPRC’s Giovanni Benedetti (centre) receives the trophy from CSA President Grantley Stephenson (right) and CSA Immediate Past President Carlos Urriola.

2. Luddy Stewart Trophy – Best Multi-Purpose Terminal: N.V. Havenbeheer’s John Defares (centre) receives the trophy for Paramaribo port.

3. Safety Award: Chairman David Harding (left) and CEO David Jean-Marie (right) of Barbados Port Inc receive the award from Mrs. Carlos Urriola.

4. Efficiency Award: Santa Marta’s Jaime Sasso receives the award from Mrs. Mildred Tirado, wife of the president of the Puerto Rico Shipping Association (PRSA).

5. Growth Award: Maria Caraballo of Intership receives the award from Mrs. Glenda Nazario, wife of the vice-president of the PRSA.